TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – Thanks to legislation passed by the Florida legislature, this weekend residents of the Sunshine State can purchase all their emergency preparedness equipment without paying state taxes.
Other states also offer a “tax holiday” for residents purchasing everything from hurricane survival gear to school supplies and hunting supplies.
And while few states actually help preppers, self-reliant families and homesteaders prepare directly, we know clever readers will enjoy finding ways to make things like school supplies a part of their survival gear cache.
Thanks to the Sales Tax Institute, the complete calendar is below. All dates are for 2017 unless otherwise stated.
|Alabama||Feb. 2018||Severe weather preparedness items – $60 or less per item, except for generators and power cords, which are covered so long as they cost $1,000 or less. Note: not all counties and municipalities are participating in the sales tax holiday. Click here to view an updated chart listing participation.|
|Florida||Aug. 4-6||Clothing, footwear, wallets and bags with a sales price of $60 or less per item|
|Iowa||Aug. 4-5||Clothing and footwear – less than $100 per item (excluding clothing accessories)|
|Louisiana||Sept. 1-3||Any consumer purchases of firearms, ammunition, and hunting supplies.|
|Louisiana||May, 2018||Hurricane preparedness items and supplies not sold at any airport, public lodging establishment or hotel, convenience store or entertainment complex – $1,500 or less per item. A 2% state sales tax exemption applies, so qualified purchaes are subject to only 3% state sales tax. Note: The holiday applies to the state sales tax, but does not apply to the sales taxes levied by parishes, municipalities, school boards, and other political subdivisions of the state.|
|Louisiana||Aug. 4-5||Purchases of most tangible personal property for non-business use – $2,500 or less per item. A 2% state sales tax exemption applies, so qualified purchases are subject to only 3% state sales tax. Note: The holiday applies to the state sales tax, but does not apply to the sales taxes levied by parishes, municipalities, school boards, and other political subdivisions of the state.|
|Maryland||Feb. 18-20||Sales of Energy Star products (includes air conditioners, washers and dryers, furnaces, heat pumps, standard-size refrigerators, compact fluorescent light bulbs (CFL), light-emitting diode (LED) light bulbs, dehumidifiers and programmable thermostats) and solar water heaters|
|Maryland||Aug. 13-19||Clothing and footwear (excluding accessories) – $100 or less per item|
|Mississippi||July 28-29||Clothing and footwear – less than $100 per item.|
|Mississippi||Aug. 25-27||Retail sales of firearms, ammunition, and hunting supplies. “Hunting supplies” means tangible personal property used for hunting, including, and limited to, archery equipment, firearm and archery cases, firearm and archery accessories, hearing protection, holsters, belts, and slings.|
|Missouri||April 19-25||All retail sales of Energy Star certified new appliances (includes Clothes washers, Clothes dryers, Water heaters, Dishwashers, Air conditioners, Furnaces, Refrigerators, Freezers, and Heat pumps) of up to $1,500 per appliance|
|New Mexico||Aug. 4-6||
NOTE: Retailers are not required to participate.
|Oklahoma||Aug. 4-6||Clothing and footwear – less than $100 per item (excluding accessories, special clothing or footwear primarily designed for athletic activity or protective use that is not normally worn except when used for athletic activity or protective use, or to the rental of clothing or footwear)|
|South Carolina||Aug. 4-6||
|Texas||May 27-29||Energy Star-qualified air conditioners priced at $6,000 or less; refrigerators priced at $2,000 or less; ceiling fans; incandescent and fluorescent light bulbs; dishwashers; dehumidifiers; programmable thermostats; and clothes washers|